Birth Records

To order a certificate click here order a Birth Certificate. If you have a question about ordering a regular birth certificate, please call 801-538-6105.

Birth Registration Team

The birth registration team is responsible for registering live births filed by hospitals, midwives, or other individuals who deliver in Utah. A date of registration is assigned for each live birth certificate and any supporting documentation that is needed to register the birth certificate such as a paternity declaration. The registration team registers both current birth events and events that are older than one calendar year and have not yet been registered with the Office of Vital Records and Statistics (OVRS).

Birth Certificate Filing and Registration

Birthing facilities and midwives are required to file the birth certificate within 10 days of a child’s birth. It is important for all parents to complete the Parental Worksheet provided to them at the time of the child’s birth. That’s how birth clerks know what to list on your child’s birth certificate. Print neatly when completing this form and feel free to ask questions. Providing your email address will allow for an instant email notice when the birth certificate is ready for you to purchase. Birth certificates are not automatically mailed to parents. Follow the link in the electronic notice to order online or find a vital records office near you. Found an error? Contact the vital record office where your certificate was processed.

Register an Unassisted Home Birth under One Calendar Year of Life

Utah law requires all live births delivered in the State of Utah to be filed within 10 days of the child’s birth. Parents who have delivered at home or are planning a home birth without the assistance of a midwife or other medical care attendant are required to file the birth certificate within 10 days of the birth. Contact the birth registration team at birthregistration@utah.gov or call 801-538-6371 to obtain further information on how to file a certificate of live birth.

Amend a Live Birth Certificate

How to amend a Live Birth certificate.

Delayed Birth Certificate Filing/Registration

File a Delayed Birth

All live births filed with the Office of Vital Records and Statistic (OVRS) for individuals one calendar year or older shall be filed as delayed. Please contact the birth registration team at birthregistration@utah.gov or call 801-538-6371 to obtain further information on how to file a delayed certificate of live birth.

Click here to order the birth certificate if the child was born in a hospital, birthing center or delivered by a midwife. Order a Birth Certificate.

Even if you have never obtained a certified copy of your birth certificate, or know that you do not have a birth certificate on file, you will need to start the process by completing an application for a certificate of live birth. Order a Birth Certificate online or print a paper application. If applying by paper application follow instructions provided on the application, and along with picture ID and the required fee, mail the form into OVRS. OVRS will contact the applicant for further information and steps to be taken if a delayed birth certificate needs to be filed.

Amend a Delayed Birth Certificate

How to amend a delayed birth certificate.

Stillbirths/Fetal Deaths

Stillbirths/fetal deaths resulting from pregnancies of 20 weeks or greater gestation as calculated from the mother’s last normal menses period to the date of delivery shall be filed with the Office of Vital Records and Statistics within 5 days of the delivery.

Please contact the birth registration team at birthregistration@utah.gov or call 801-538-6366 to obtain further information.

Register a Stillbirth Delivery

Stillbirths/fetal deaths of 20 weeks or greater gestation as calculated from the mother’s last normal menses period to the date of delivery shall be filed with the Office of Vital Records and Statistics within 5 days of the delivery by the delivering birth facility or midwife. Contact birthregistration@utah.gov or call 801-538-6366 to obtain further information on how to file a stillbirth/fetal death certificate.

Order a Stillbirth certificate.

Amend a Stillbirth Certificate

Contact birthregistration@utah.gov or call 801-538-6366 to obtain further information on how to amend a Stillbirth/fetal death certificate.

Early-Term Stillbirth Filing/Registration

Early-term stillbirths resulting from pregnancies between 16 and 19 weeks gestation as calculated from the mother’s last normal menses period to the date of delivery may be filed with the Office of Vital Records and Statistics upon parental request.

Register an Early-Term Stillbirth Delivery

Utah law allows for the registration of early-term stillbirth deliveries for pregnancies between 16 - 19 weeks gestation as calculated from date of last normal menses period to the date of delivery. The request form requires a Utah licensed physician to sign. Follow instructions provided on the application, and along with picture ID and the required fee, mail the form into the Office of Vital Records and Statistics. Please contact the birth registration team at birthregistration@utah.gov or call 801-538-6366 to obtain further information.

Complete the form for an Early-term Stillbirth certificate.

Newborn’s Social Security Card Request

The newborn’s Social Security card request is also part of this team’s responsibilities. Parents shall use the Parent Worksheet for Child’s Birth Certificate provided to them at the time of the child’s birth to request the Social Security card for their newborn, and provide mail instructions for the Social Security Administration to process and mail the card directly to the parents.